2019 NHL Alumni
Awards Gala Recap 

The end of October is always a special time for the NHL Alumni Association, as it marks our Annual Gala CelebrationAlthough this year we weren’t able to celebrate this momentous occasion in person, we wanted to take a look back at our last class of inductees from 2019.

2019 Keith Magnuson ‘Man of the Year’: Ray Bourque 


Joining an already distinguished group of NHL Alumni, Ray Bourque was named our 2019 Keith Magnuson ‘Man of the Year’. This award is presented to an NHL Alumni member who has applied the intangibles of perseverance, commitment and teamwork both on the ice as a player and off the ice as an NHL Alumni member. Ray’s impressive 22 seasons on-ice resume consists of numerous notable achievements, including the 1980 Calder Trophy, 1992 King Clancy Trophy, 2003 Lester Patrick Trophy, 5 Norris Trophies and a Stanley Cup Championship in 2001. A true leader in every sense of the word, these numerous team and individual accolades cement Ray’s position as one of the game’s greatest players. Building upon his already impressive career with the Bruins and Avalanche, Ray’s tremendous work ethic transitioned off the ice into the community with his Bourque Family Foundation. Raising over $20 million to support more than 1,000 different organizations with various missions from establishing after school programs to famine relief, Ray and his foundation are setting an example of greatness that we should all follow to this day.




Inspiration can come from many different sources. For the 2019 St. Louis Blues inspiration came from a strong young girl by the name of Laila Anderson. Sitting in last place in January, the St. Louis Blues were faced with an uphill climb, one that no one thought they would conquer. For Laila Anderson, she was entering a battle of her own. Diagnosed with a rare life-threatening auto-immune disease, the avid Blues fan wanted nothing more than for her ‘boys’ to defy all odds and show the world that anything can be overcome. After meeting numerous St. Louis Blues during her treatments in the hospital, Laila became a beacon of hope for the team that everyone had counted out. To the dismay of others, the team made an impressive berth into the playoffs with Laila by their side the whole way. Improbable win after improbable win, the St. Louis Blues accomplished something doubters had only recently deemed impossible, they lifted Lord Stanley’s Cup as Champions. In an iconic moment, Laila Anderson and the St. Louis Blues hoisted hockey’s greatest trophy, proving that anything is possible. An inspiration to the entire hockey community, the NHL Alumni Association was honoured to present Laila Anderson with our 2019 Keith McCreary ‘7th Teammate Award’ for her tremendous bravery, strength and spirit in the face of adversity.




The NHL Alumni Association’s Ace Bailey ‘Award of Courage’ is presented to an individual who has shown exceptional courage and exemplary determination in life. Chris Joseph’s incredible bravery was demonstrated following the Humboldt tragedy that saw the loss of 16 members of the Humboldt Broncos’ hockey team including his son, Jaxon. Chris’ compassion, openness, and determination to make roads safer are constant embodiments of strength and courage for the entire hockey community, and he and his family have been acatalyst for change and hope for all those affected.


2019 ‘Outstanding Alumni Award’: Cliff Koroll 


With a family of over 3,800 members worldwide, the NHL Alumni Association is a constantly growing organization of players who have all shaped the game that we love. In 2019, the inaugural ‘Outstanding Alumni Award’ was given out to an individual NHL Alumni Chapter President that is dedicated to the success of their local Alumni chapter. This contribution is measured by their commitment to the community and their efforts to grow the game at the grassroots level. Cliff Koroll, the 2019 ‘Outstanding Alumni Award’ recipient, has had a tremendous impact on the growth of the Chicago Blackhawks’ chapter. A distinguished NHL Alumni, we were pleased to have Cliff be our inaugural recipient of this award.




The NHL Alumni Honorary Member is presented to someone who has distinguished themselves as a leader in their respective field. For 2019, we were honoured to present the award to Captain Charles Scot-Brown. A brave hero by every measure of the word, Captain Charles Scot-Brown has done more than distinguish himself, he has fought for his country, having served in World War II during the largest seaborne invasion in history on D-Day. A highly decorated veteran who had the tough task of taking out German radar installations on Sword Beach, Charles Scot-Brown embodies everything this honour is about. The NHL Alumni Association is truly grateful for his bravery and sacrifice.


We are excited and hopeful to continue our long-standing tradition of ‘Honouring the Past’ at our 2021 NHL Alumni Association Awards Gala Celebration.


Recent Comments

    Share This On
    [wp_social_sharing social_options="facebook,twitter,linkedin" facebook_text="Facebook" twitter_text="Twitter" icon_order="f,t" show_icons="0" before_button_text="" text_position="" social_image=""]